Social Inclusion and Activation Programme (SICAP)

Programme Aim

The Social Inclusion and Activation Programme is a government funded programme designed to reduce poverty and social exclusion through a range of interventions at both a group and individual level which are delivered in local communities. The programme will be delivered by NEKD in collaboration with Kerry County Council.

The Programme has 3 Goals:

  1. To support and resource disadvantaged communities and marginalised target groups to engage with relevant local and national stakeholders in identifying and addressing social exclusion and equality issues.
  2. To support individuals and marginalised target groups experiencing educational disadvantage so they can participate fully, engage with and progress through life-long learning opportunities through the use of community development approaches,
  3. To engage with marginalised target groups/individuals and residents of disadvantaged communities who are unemployed but do not fall within mainstream employment service provision or who are referred to SICAP to move them closer to the labour market and improve work readiness, support them in accessing employment and self-employment and creating social enterprise opportunities.

To find out more about the SICAP please contact one of our Development Officers

 

Role Name Office Base Telephone Email
SICAP Programme Manager Robert Carey Listowel 066 7180190 robertcarey@newkd.ie
Estate Management/Social Enterprise Dave Fitzgibbon Listowel 068 23429 davefitzgibbon@newkd.ie
Family/Education Supports Deirdre Kearin  Tralee 066 7180190 deirdrekearin@newkd.ie
Equality/Mental Health Lorraine Bowler  Tralee 066 7180190 lorrainebowler@newkd.ie
Equality/Employment

(Listowel/Castleisland)

Dee Keogh Castleisland 068 23429/066 7142211 deekeogh@newkd.ie
Youth Projects & Employment for Under 25s (Castleisland) Jennifer O’Sullivan Coffey Castleisland 066 7142576 jenniferosullivan@newkd.ie
X-istance Youth Café (Listowel) Louise Lyons Listowel 068 23429 louiselyons@newkd.ie
Enterprise Supports(Listowel/Tralee) Eibhlis Hanrahan Listowel/Tralee 068 23429 eibhlishanrahan@newkd.ie
Enterprise Supports (Castleisland/Tralee/Dingle) Vacant Castleisland/Tralee/Dingle Contact Reception 066 7180190
Enterprise Administrator Rita Griffin  Tralee 066 7180190 ritagriffin@newkd.ie
Farm Families/Community Dev (Dingle) Seamus O’Hara Dingle 066 7142788 seamusohara@newkd.ie
Adult Education (Tralee CDP) Ger Brosnan Tralee CDP 066 7120877 gerbrosnan@newkd.ie