Social Inclusion and Activation Programme (SICAP)

SICAP is co-funded by the Government of Ireland and the European Social Fund as part of the Programme for Employability, Inclusion and Learning 2014-2020.

The Social Inclusion and Community Activation Programme (SICAP) 2018 – 2022 provides funding to tackle poverty and social exclusion through local engagement and partnerships between disadvantaged individuals, community organisations and public sector agencies.

Administered by Pobal and funded by the Irish Government through the Department of Rural and Community Development, it also receives funding from the European Social Fund under the Programme for Employability, Inclusion and Learning (PEIL) 2014-2020.

SICAP addresses high and persistent levels of deprivation through targeted and innovative, locally-led approaches. It supports disadvantaged communities and individuals including unemployed people, people living in deprived areas, people with disabilities, single parent families, people on a low income, members of the Traveller and Roma community and other disadvantaged groups.

The programme is managed at a local level by 33 Local Community Development Committees (LCDCs), with support from local authorities, and actions are delivered by Programme Implementers (PIs).

PIs work with marginalised communities and service providers using a community development approach to improve people’s lives. For example, helping people to find work or to upskill, providing CV training or a personal development course, helping them onto a work placement programme such as CE or Tύs.

The Social Inclusion and Community Activation Programme (SICAP) 2018-2022 is funded by the Irish Government through the Department of Rural and Community Development and co-funded by the European Social Fund under the Programme for Employability, Inclusion and Learning (PEIL) 2014-2020.

 

To find out more about the SICAP check out this video…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e4dzyQriKGs&feature=youtu.be

or contact one of our Development Officers:

 

Role Name Office Base Telephone Email
SICAP Programme Manager Robert Carey Listowel 066 7180190 robertcarey@newkd.ie
Estate Management/Social Enterprise Dave Fitzgibbon Listowel 068 23429 davefitzgibbon@newkd.ie
Family/Education Supports Deirdre Kearin  Tralee 066 7180190 deirdrekearin@newkd.ie
Equality/Mental Health Lorraine Bowler  Tralee 066 7180190 lorrainebowler@newkd.ie
Equality/Employment

(Listowel/Castleisland)

Dee Keogh Castleisland 068 23429/066 7142211 deekeogh@newkd.ie
Youth Projects & Employment for Under 25s (Castleisland) Jennifer O’Sullivan Coffey Castleisland 066 7142576 jenniferosullivan@newkd.ie
X-istance Youth Café (Listowel) Louise Lyons Listowel 068 23429 louiselyons@newkd.ie
Enterprise Supports(Listowel/Tralee) Eibhlis Hanrahan Listowel/Tralee 068 23429 eibhlishanrahan@newkd.ie
Enterprise Supports (Castleisland/Tralee/Dingle) Elaine Kennedy Castleisland/Tralee/Dingle  066 7142576 elainekennedy@newkd.ie
Enterprise Administrator Rita Griffin  Tralee 066 7180190 ritagriffin@newkd.ie
Farm Families/Community Dev (Dingle) Seamus O’Hara Dingle 066 7142788 seamusohara@newkd.ie
Community Ger Brosnan Rahoonane gerbrosnan@newkd.ie